Delilah to Host National Radio Hall of Fame Ceremony

Premiere Networks syndicated radio personality Delilah will host this years National Radio Hall of Fame (NRHOF) ceremony taking place Sunday, November 9, in Los Angeles, marking the first time the ceremony has taken place outside of Chicago. Premiere Networks will produce and distribute a live broadcast in association with the Museum of Broadcast Communications (MBC). Inductees for 2014 include, Dick Orkin, Charlie & Harrigan, Barry Farber, Stanley E. Hubbard, Jon Miller and Agnes Moorehead (posthumous).

“The National Radio Hall of Fame is taking the show on the road this year,” said MBC Founder/President Bruce DuMont. “There are many Radio Hall of Famers living in southern California and several 2014 inductees, so it seems like a great time to try something different, and it will be good to do the show live once again.” Jim Bohannon of Westwood One will reprise his role as the broadcast’s announcer.

The seven new inductees into the National Radio Hall of Fame are:

  • Charlie & Harrigan
  • Barry Farber
  • Stanley E. Hubbard
  • Jon Miller
  • Agnes Moorehead
  • Dick Orkin
  • This American Life with Ira Glass

The 2014 NRHOF induction-ceremony broadcast will also honor the women of the National Radio Hall of Fame: actors Eve Arden (Our Miss Brooks), Virginia Payne (Ma Perkins), Shirley Bell (Little Orphan Annie), and Virginia Clark and Julie Stevens (The Romance of Helen Trent); comedians Gracie Allen and Jane Ace; triple threats Marian Jordan (Fibber McGee and Molly) and Gertrude Berg (The Goldbergs), who created, wrote, and starred in their own hit shows; behind-the-scenes players like producer Lynne “Angel” Harvey and executive Cathy Hughes; journalists Ann Compton (ABC News) and Susan Stamberg (NPR); interviewer Terry Gross (Fresh Air); singer and national icon Kate Smith; urban-radio personality Wendy Williams; Chicago disc jockeys Yvonne Daniels and Terri Hemmert; and jazz great Marian McPartland.

Leave a Reply