Stern Snubbed by National Radio Hall of Fame

National Public Radio veteran Carl Kasell and the Mormon Tabernacle Choir’s weekly “Music and the Spoken Word, prescription ” billed as the longest-running radio broadcast in America, check will be among this year’s national radio inductees in the National Radio Hall of Fame. Meanwhile voters have snubbed two of America’s pioneering shock jocks Howard Stern and Steve Dahl for the fourth and third times respectively.  Other 2010 winners announced Wednesday include Chicago rock radio icon Terri Hemmert , country music personality Ralph Emery, the late Sam Phillips, owner of radio stations and Sun Records (and the man credited with discovering Elvis Presley and Johnny Cash, among others) and Cathy Hughes, broadcast entrepreneur and founder of Radio One.

National Radio Hall of Fame voting, which was open to the public online ran from June 14 to Aug. 1.  Westwood One Radio Networks will produce and distribute the live two hour induction broadcast on Saturday November 6, 2010 at 10:00 pm (ET) from The Mayne Stage in Chicago.

Leave a Reply